Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Conservatives retain control of borough council

The party is victorious once more in local North Hampshire wards in local election

THE CONSERVATIVES have retained control of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, following yesterday's (Thursday) local election.

Following last night's count at Queen Mary's College, Basingstoke, it was revealed that the party won 34 of the council's 60 seats - retaining the same amount as they held prior to the election.

The biggest gain of the night was to Labour, who won 11 seats - an additional two seats to the nine they held before the election.

The Liberal Democrats lost a seat, taking their number down to 13 seats, and the Independents remained the same with two seats. Basingstoke First Community Party lost their one seat.

The Conservatives were also victorious in six local North Hampshire seats, including Kingsclere, where Donald Sherlock secured the seat vacated by Conservative Kenneth Rhatigan, who stepped down before the election. Mr Sherlock polled 1,366 votes, compared to his only rival, Labour's James Gibb, who polled 516 votes.

Similarly in Burghclere, Highclere and St Mary Bourne, Conservative John Izett won the seat vacated by Conservative James Lewin, who also stood down before the election. Mr Izett romped to victory with 1,563 votes, compared to Liberal Democrat, Anthony Davies (305 votes), Labour's Romilla Arber (228 votes) and UKIP candidate, Emily Blatchford (139 votes).

In Baughurst and Tadley North, Conservative Graham Round only just held onto his seat, with 930 votes, a slim margin of 30 votes ahead of his closest rival, Liberal Democrat, Warwick Lovegrove, with Labour's David Carr trailing in third position (249 votes).

In Pamber and Silchester, Conservative Marilyn Tucker was re-elected with a resounding 1,507 votes. Her only rival, Labour's Terry Price, trailed behind with 407 votes.

In Tadley Central, Conservative Stephen West also retained his seat, polling 609 votes, almost double that of his nearest rival, Liberal Democrat, Jo Slimin, who polled 321 votes. Labour's Stanley Howes was third, with 97 votes.

Conservative Rob Musson was re-elected in Tadley South, with 1,084 votes - way ahead of his three rivals Labour's Simon Cooper (306 votes), Liberal Democrat Ian Hankinson (300 votes) and UKIP candidate John Bentham (141 votes)

The political composition of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council now stands as follows:


Conservative 34

Liberal Democrats 13

Labour 11

Independent 2


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More