Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Freedom of the Town of Hungerford 2023 awards launched

IT’S time to nominate your contenders for this year’s Freedom of the Town of Hungerford awards.

Launched in 2012 by Martin Crane, who was mayor at the time, the awards are intended to promote good citizenship by recognising as role models those “who, by their actions and demeanour have demonstrated exceptionally loyal service to the benefit of the town.”

Mr Crane said at the time: “Each year we shall consider awarding this Freedom to those who, in the opinion of our citizens, have made a significant contribution to the well-being of Hungerford.

“Our town is blessed with many who, through their selfless actions, have given so much to our community and by identifying a few with this award, we also giving our thanks to the many who volunteer to the huge benefit of the whole town.”

Nominations for this year’s awards must be received by the town clerk, Claire Barnes, no later than 5pm on Friday, June 30.

Nominations will be judged by a small panel comprising the clerk, town mayor Helen Simpson and five non-councillors who have themselves provided longstanding service to the town.

The successful nominees will be announced on a date to be fixed in September.

Forms are available from the town council offices in the library building in Church Street.

Alternatively, to access the online nomination form, go here: https://bit.ly/45lrgPg

Previous awardees include Gwynneth Bullock, Rod Desmeules, Betty Grant, Robin Tubb, Lathleen Walker, Bill Acworth, John Hollister, Jack Williams, Robert James, Dr Hugh Pihlens, Ron Tarry, John Newton, Roger Beard, David Clayon, Janette Kersey, Neale Marney, Beryl Fowler, Margaret Wilson, Norman Barr, Chris Scorey, Catherine Woollaston, Ted Angell, Christine Buck, Peter Harries, Roger Ballard, Derek Loft, Diane Loft, Steve Skipworth, Martin Crane, Penny Locke and Jenneifer Bartter.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More