Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Revealed: This year's winners of the Freedom of the Town of Hungerford awards

THE winners of this year's Freedom of the Town of Hungerford awards have been announced.

And there are three of them this year.

Town mayor Helen Simpson said: "I am delighted to announce the results of the nominations for Freedom of the Town 2022."

Mayor Helen Simpson announced the winners
Mayor Helen Simpson announced the winners

She revealed the following will be awarded for their outstanding services to Hungerford:

* Martin Crane OBE

* Penny Locke

* Jennifer Bartter

Mrs Simpson added: "All three have dedicated considerable time volunteering within the community.

"These include various different roles but Martin is probably best known for his role of Mayor for five years."

Martin Crane
Martin Crane

Mr Crane served as town mayor from 2011 to 2014 and again from 2015 to 2017.

He stepped down from the town council last April following many years of service.

As well as twice serving as town mayor, Mr Crane headed the council’s tourism and economy committee and was instrumental in the promotion of Hungerford as an ambassador town for the Great West Way tourism project.

Mr Crane also pioneered the successful Hungerford Trade Showcase and created the Freedom of the Town of Hungerford awards in 2012, of which he is now a recipient.

Mrs Simpson went on: "Penny is known for her involvement in the school, food festival and markets."

Penny Locke
Penny Locke

Ms Locke is also well known for creating the online Penny Post newsletter and for her work with the online 4Legs station.

Mrs Simpson also acknowledged Ms Bartter's work with the West Berks Food Bank and said: "Hungerford Town Council looks forward to presenting the awards at a ceremony in the near future.

Our warmest congratulations to all three."

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More