Newbury News Ltd. Print-Digital-Social

Conservatives hold control of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council

Borough council and Hampshire PCC election results

Jane Meredith

Jane Meredith


01635 886637

Local Election results North Hampshire

THE CONSERVATIVES have held control of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, following the May 5 Local Election. 

Overall results for the 60 seat council, after the declaration of final results this afternoon (Friday) were as follows: Conservative – 33 seats, Labour – 19 seats, Liberal Democrats – 6 seats, Independent Forum – 2

The overall turnout was 34.32 per cent. 

Results for the 20 seats (one third of the council) up for election were as follows: Conservatives – 11 seats, Labour – 8 seats, Liberal Democrats – 1 seat.

In the local North Hampshire area, where four contested wards were of particular interest, the Conservatives held the three wards of Tadley, Kingsclere, and Pamber/Silchester.

The Lib Dems held control of the (fourth) Baughurst and Tadley North ward.

The count , at the Hampshire Court Hotel, Chineham, Basingstoke, got underway at 10am today (Fri).



Electorate: 3890 | Turnout: (37.46 per cent) | Spoiled votes: 14

Candidate                         Party                                                 Votes          Elected?

RHATIGAN  Ken                 The Conservative Party Candidate        979            Elected
RODWAY John Bernal         Labour Party                                      292
WARD  Roger Thorpe          Liberal Democrats                              172

Pamber and Silchester

Electorate: 3661 | Turnout: (38.54 per cent) | Spoiled votes: 17

Candidate                            Party                                              Votes    Elected?

GARDINER  Roger David       The Conservative Party Candidate      1091    Elected
MASSEY  Lydia                     Labour Party                                      303

Tadley South

Electorate: 4436 | Turnout: (29.87 per cent) | Spoiled votes: 18

BALLARD Claire Louise              Labour Party                                 215
LEEKS David Alan                     The Conservative Party Candidate   824     Elected
SLIMIN Jo                                Liberal Democrats                         268


The count of local, North Hampshire votes in respect of the Hampshire Police and Crime Commissioner, for which there were seven candidates, is also taking place in Chineham, with the result of this still awaited, along with the count of votes for the parish council elections.

Baughurst and Tadley North

Electorate: 4377 | Turnout: (37.99 per cent) | Spoiled votes:13

Candidate                                      Party                                           Votes             Elected?
BOUND Mike                                  Liberal Democrats                          912               Elected
JAYAWARDENA Nalin Mahinda         The Conservative Party Candidate    557
PORTER George Whitley                  Labour Party                                  181

The Hampshire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) count went to a second count late this afternoon (Friday), after no clear majority was established following the first count.

Please revisit this website for the Hampshire PCC results, when declared. 

For a full report of the Local Election results, including photographs, pick up a copy of the Newbury Weekly News next Thursday (May 12).

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Newbury Weekly News

Characters left: 1000