Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Lib Dems take both Newbury Town Council seats

Lib Dems, Alexander Payton and Ruwan Uduwerage-Perera (pictured), won the seats after the ward went to the polls yesterday.
The results were as follows:
BOWLER, Malcolm (Con) – 292 votes
BUTLER, Kate (Lab) – 148 votes
FAIRBROTHER, Stuart (Con) – 279 votes
FARROW Charlie (Apolitical) 158 votes
PAYTON, Alexander (Lib Dem) - 335 votes - Elected
PUFFETT, Gary (Lab) 130 votes

UDUWERAGE-PERERA, Ruwan (Lib Dem) - 315 votes - Elected
YATES, David (Apolitical) 136 votes
The by-election was called following the resignation of two Liberal Democrat members in February who both represented Victoria ward.
The Lib Dems have now retained the majority they held over the Conservatives at Newbury Town Council.
For full reaction to the result, see next week’s Newbury Weekly News.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More