Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Park House Pupils win at national technology awards

More news, no ads


TeenTech winners developed modern technology rationing system

A GROUP of Year 9 Park House pupils will see their innovative water rationing system used in Gambia as early as next year, after their entry won a national technology competition for secondary schools.

The TeenTech Awards, held at a prestigious ceremony at The Royal Society in June, featured a judging panel that included presenter James May, BBC Kate Russell and reporter Maggie Philbin.

Pupils Jack Hygate, Connor Humphreys and Laurence Bu-Rashid worked closely with the charity Africa Water Enterprises to develop their ‘eWATERPay’ system, winning the National TeenTech Award for their invention.

Their entry uses modern technology to enable individuals to pay a small amount of money to the charity in return for a specific measure of clean water.

The amount of water administered is controlled by a radio frequency identification tag linked to a mobile app, allowing individuals to top up their balance.

The money the charity receives then goes towards the maintenance of the taps, to ensure that the water continues to be accessible.

Winning team member Laurence Bu-Rashid said: “The TeenTech Awards have really pushed us to develop our eWATERtap. It’s amazing to think that we have made something which will help to improve the lives of so many people.

His team-mate Connor Humphreys pointed out that the development of the eWATERPay system wasn’t entirely selfless.

“We have worked with so many companies, learnt so much and have been given so many opportunities as a result,” he said.

Computer science teacher at Park House School, Mhari Douglas, said: “The TeenTech Awards Final is such a fantastic opportunity for the students, giving them the chance to showcase their work to industry experts and celebrities.

“They presented their ideas with such confidence and enthusiasm to the judges and I am absolutely thrilled that they won.

“It was very well deserved and I am extremely proud of their achievement.”

The team will receive their award from The Duke of York, at Buckingham Palace, at a later date.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More