Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Thatcham South and Crookham results announced

The announcement means the Liberal Democrat party has increased its town council majority

THE results of the last ward to be verified in the Thatcham Town Council elections have been announced, following a second recount today (Monday).

The Thatcham South and Crookham ward results have been announced several days after the results for the other town council wards were announced on Friday.

The first recount for the ward took place on Friday and was discontinued at around 7pm after several attempts failed to arrive at a decisive result.

The new councillors are Dominic Boeck (Con), John Andrew Boyd (Lib Dem), Roger Croft (Con), Marvellous Ford (Lib Dem), Owen Jeffery (Lib Dem) and Janette Miranda (Lib Dem).

The result means that Thatcham Town Council now has 13 Liberal Democrat members and five Conservative councillors compared to the 11 Liberal Democrat councillors and seven Conservative members following the 2007 elections.

The majority for the Liberal Democrats has doubled from four to eight.

Party parliamentary spokesperson, David Rendel, said: “To have retained control of both Newbury and Thatcham Town councils is a marvellous result for the Liberal Democrats.

"At a time when the party was well down in the polls nationally, Newbury and Thatcham have bucked the national trend and delivered a severe rebuke to the Conservatives for only caring about the rural areas of West Berkshire.”

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More