Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Winner of You Must Be Joking is crowned

The judges for the final were Newbury Weekly News reporter Tanya Haji, deputy theatre manager at the Corn Exchange, Kren Harverson, and Oxford comedy writer Peter Terrington.
Sean Doyle won over the audience and the judges with his comedic tales of the Mega Bus and pyjama-wearing zones.
The other acts that won through to the final included Robin Morgan, Sarah Iles, Darren Walsh, Ben Champion, Nigel Lovell and Tim O’Connor.
After collecting his £500 prize, Sean, from Chiswick, said that he had not expected to win and thanked everybody who attended the evening.
Each of the heats, held in June, featured 10 contestants who are given a maximum of five minutes each to wow the crowd, with the audience voting on which acts they wanted to send through to the grand final.
In previous years the competition has produced up-and-coming acts Matt Richardson, Ian Smith, Gerry Howell and Imran Yusuf.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More