Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

West Berkshire's Gillas Cup goes to Paul Beake after strong round

More news, no ads


Paul Beake has won the 2021 Gillas Cup at West Berkshire Golf Club.

This is an annual competition in which competitors take their best score from three preliminary rounds and add it to their score in the final.

Luke Prestoe won the final round with a splendid 45 points.

Paul Beake
Paul Beake

Kevin Hopwood was second with 43, followed by a four-way tie on 41 that was resolved by countback in the order of Pete Dye, Kevin Holloway, Stuart Harrison and Mark Ridgill.

Beake scored 40 points in the final for an aggregate of 86 points to win by a single shot from Mark Ridgill.

Prestoe’s impressive 45 in the final saw him leap up the leaderboard from thirteenth place after three rounds to take third place on 84.

Kevin Howe won the men's Saturday stableford with a remarkable 47 points.

Phillip Armstrong was two points behind in second place and Jason Kendal third on 43.

The first two rounds of the ladies’ Winter Series, a competition that runs through to the end of February, commenced this week.

On Tuesday, Carol Sparvell won the first round with 29 points while Jane Wilmore scored 24 points to take second place.

Jane Brackenbury won Round 2 on Saturday with 31 points while Gale McAuley was second on 23.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More